Daughter Song

Daughter Song

By Brandi Haugen

 

The stars did not align

for you.

Irresponsibility paved your path

of serrated pebbles, and you

without your shoes,

holding out your raw heels

for me to see;

feel my guilt

like a brand.

I, the pinprick egg

buried in your left ovary,

knew this; felt my 

shame at conception.

Growth in stages,

suspended in my red sea;

stunted.

There is no beauty

in accidents.

I have been your chains

long enough;

sought out fate.

Fallen at your knees

begging redemption;

take back your mistake.

Bled your blood 

upon my barbed path.

How can I bleed more?

My veins have run dry

and you will never be sated.

 

 

 

Tell me a story

