It So Happens…

It So Happens

By Brandi Haugen

 

It so happens I’m tired of love,

of the lies of the infinite, insipid writers of romance;

of the heavy bittersweetness of breakups.

The burning shade of tears,

the drought of words and tightened patience.

It so happens I’m tired of the fall;

the accelerated waltz of the dashing antagonist;

the melodies of crashing sobs;

the ripping of the silver lining;

the wretched sounds of promises.

I’m tired of desire, real or not,

tired of sodden skin, the glisten of a 

single tear, repetitive in a perpetual life.

I want to breathe, but

I want to bolt, until I’m gasping,

begging for air.

I want to disappear between the

pages of poetry:

it’s softer here,

safe among the paper cuts.

Tell me a story

