You

You

By Brandi Haugen

 

Quick —

before it all turns sour.

Tell me again

how you’ve waited for me.

Tell me again

that I’m everything

you’ve ever dreamed of;

asked for.

Tell me as we lie here,

your strong fingers tracing the bones

of my back,

leaving your words like a tattoo.

Sinking through skin and bone

to scar my once-hollow heart.

Because I’ve waited for you.

Spent countless nights

under endless skies

begging the stars for you.

Just you.

A chance encounter

where fingertips met

and clasped,

fitting together like puzzle pieces.

I was forever changed

and hesitant.

Terrified of your ocean eyes,

your perfect face,

your open heart.

For me?

Yes. 

Mine.

Tell me a story

